The State of Florida has some of the strictest firearm laws in the nation. If you or a loved one has been charged with unlawful possession, use or display of a firearm or weapon you could be facing serious criminal charges.
If you are convicted of a firearm or weapons charge in Florida, you could be facing years of prison time. An experienced Florida, criminal defense attorney can help you build a strong legal defense.
Firearms and Weapon Crimes in Florida
With proper documentation and licensing, it is legal to own a firearm in the State of Florida. However, if you are arrested for illegal possession of a gun you could be facing serious prison time.
The State Attorney’s Office takes gun crime very seriously, so much so in fact, that a special gun legislation was enacted in hopes of decreasing firearm crime. The law is known as the 10-20-LIFE law and mandates specific minimum prison terms for gun law violators. For example, some of the terms that the statute imposes are:
- Crimes Committed with a Firearm where someone was injured or killed: Minimum of 25 year to life in a Florida Prison
- Crimes where a Firearm was discharged: Minimum of 20 year in a Florida prison
- Felonies or attempted felonies involving a Firearm: Minimum 10 year in Florida prison
You risk an enhanced sentence if you are convicted of any other crimes, like aggravated battery, burglary, or a sex crime while in possession of weapon. Consulting an experienced Florida guns crime lawyer can help ensure that you get the best results possible in court. Call Edward G. Salantrie for your free consultation today.
Florida Concealed Weapons Charges
Like almost all other states and jurisdictions, there are specific licensing requirements for lawful possession of a gun in Florida. There is also a specific permit that allows a person to legally carry a concealed weapon. A person will be granted a permit to carry a concealed weapon in Florida if he applies and shows no history of criminal activity or substance and meets age requirements.
However, if a person does not possess the license and permit necessary to carry a concealed weapon, the consequences can be severe. A person carrying a concealed weapon without a permit commits a felony of the third degree. This is punishable by up to five years in a Florida prison.
If you have been charged with a concealed weapon crime, contact Florida firearm lawyer, Edward G. Salantrie today to begin your free consultation.
Illegal Weapons Possession in Florida
The consequences for illegal possession of a firearm or weapon in Florida are severe. There are several laws in place surrounding firearm possession in Florida, including:
- No person under the age of 16 can legally possess a firearm, unless the gun is not loaded, at a residence and the underage person is under the supervision of a parent or guardian.
- No person who has been convicted of a felony may legally possess a weapon or firearm, unless his civil rights have been restored.
- No person who is prone to substance abuse, a vagrant or mentally incompetent may possess a weapon in Florida.
- No person who is subject to active domestic violence injunction or charge may possess a firearm.
The charges will depend on the defendant’s situation and may range from misdemeanor to felony. Meaning the punishment could range from a severe fine to prison time.
The best way to build a strong defense is to consult an experienced Florida gun crime lawyer. The Law Office of Edward G. Salantrie can ensure that you get the best possible results in your case. Contact him today for your free consultation.